Lori's Book Nook

Is it only me?

Posted on: August 31, 2006

The Internet is a wonderful ‘place’, right? We are all in agreement on that point? Yes, it sucks time and energy, distracts us from the rest of our lives, but you can find the answer to most of your questions, and for the others, you can find a group to discuss the possibilities.

But why, when I’m presented with a new, super-cool book search tool — this time BookWormSearch — do I feel a little lost?

Is it only me who feels paralyzed by endless possibility when faced with a search box on a simple webpage?

Years ago, someone said to me, “You know, the Internet is like the world’s largest library…except that you can’t browse the shelves.”

And in the end, that is the reason I like my books in their analog form…and bookstores and libraries to have open shelves. I don’t want to know what I’m looking for, the discovery of a new interest is just around the corner, and I don’t want to miss it.

That said, I’d like to point you to two beautiful things:

  1. The Open Library…a project by librarians for book lovers now, and in the future. The idea is to scan books, page-by-page, and enter them into an online library, where readers can still lovingly turn the pages. Plus, the plan is to have each book read as well, so you can opt to have the audio version play while you read, or if you can’t read…
  2. StumbleUpon, the most amazing time-waster on the Internet. It is the closest thing I have found to just wandering the aisles of the Internet bookstore, to see what you can see.

“So, it ain’t all bad.”

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
