Lori's Book Nook

Top Ten Literary Crushes

Posted on: October 4, 2006

Found this concept on Chelsea’s Blog on Vox. I’ve never really thought about this, but here are some of her faves:

7. Mercutio, from Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare. Although Romeo has become synonymous with romantic lovers, he never did much for me. Far from being loyal, he actually strikes me as inconstant; if it hadn’t been for the forbidden nature of his and Juliet’s relationship, they would have been over each other within two weeks, tops. But Mercutio- there’s loyalty. He’s well aware of the stupidity of the feud but remains loyal to the Montagues nevertheless, ultimately laying down his life. The cynical bitterness of the character is also intriguing, as is his obvious intelligence and his sharp sense of humor.

6. Rhett Butler, from Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. Rhett Butler is the only traditional romantic hero to appear on this list; he’s pretty much the prototypical rakehell that’s starred in every Harlequin or Mills & Boone romance since then. Scarlett was absolutely crazy not to recognize what she had; Rhett may not be perfect but he was perfect for her. Like he said, they were both “scoundrels.” His devotion to his daughter was also charming; his brokenness after the death of Bonnie Blue remains one of the most heart wrenching things I’ve ever read.

5. Inigo Montoya, from The Princess Bride by S. Morgenstern abridged by William Goldman. Westley is nice, I suppose, but at his core he’s pretty dull, and why he loves Buttercup (who may be beautiful but is as dumb as a box of hair) is beyond me. Give me the tortured soul of Inigo Montoya, seeking to avenge his father by killing the six-fingered man. Inigo’s athleticism, skill, and dedication are all worthy attributes.

I don’t think I’ve ever crushed on a literary character. I have favourite heros, of course. Samwise Gamgee, ZorroMiles Vorkosigan, and Friti Tailchaser to name a few.  But I am curious about who other people have had crushes on. Share them with me.

2 Responses to "Top Ten Literary Crushes"

Hey! I’m glad you were intrigued by my list. It’s not a concept that originated with me; I’ve seen it as a topic on dozens of messages boards.

My list of top ten literay heroes would be a bit different from this list, I’ll admit. Future blog post, maybe?

It’s still a great concept — whether it originated with you or not. But, days later, I still haven’t thought of characters I’ve had crushes on. I’m not counting the generic ‘bad boy’ of the HHR genre — the Horny Historical Romances, where the rough cowboy/pirate/black lord/what-have-you was always so…sexy. No wonder we women fall for bad men so often — we read this crap and get brainwashed! I read those as a teen, so really got it in my head. Gads.

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
