Lori's Book Nook

SF (& what it means to you)

Posted on: October 6, 2006

Interesting how the genre of SF has changed over the years. No, I’m not going to start a history lesson…go to Wikipedia for that.

But, what do they really stand for, those two letters? Science fiction? Speculative fiction? Science fiction & fantasy? Does it matter?

The point is, the literature of alternate views of reality is a wonderful thing…a laboratory of possible outcomes, a playground for ideas, and a place where absolutely anything goes. In my bookmarks, I’ve been holding on to a useful one, the Internet Speculative Fiction Database. The main page has a great list of upcoming releases, in all forms, including audio. [So now I really know what my bookstore isn’t stocking!]

While I’m on about releases and new books, have you folks been to Baen’s Free Library? It’s a great marketing ploy (and a transparent one, if you read the first page), but there’s one point that’s not made there:

How many people are really likely to read a book online?

I might read the first chapter, get into it, and decide to buy the book (or find it at the library), but I don’t see myself reading all of it while sitting at my computer.

Questions for the public: Do you read books online? On your computer, your PDA, whatever. If so, why? How? How many? Is it better than a physical book (perish the thought!)?

Obviously, I’m biased to the ‘real thing’. I want to hold a book in my hand, curl up in a comfy chair (or flake out on the sofa, or sit up in bed…), and turn pages. I’ve read a book once on the computer, as an experiment. It was The Voyages of Doctor Doolittle by Hugh Lofting.

6 Responses to "SF (& what it means to you)"

The book I am reading is very heavy (just over a kilo now that I threw it on the scale! Not as heavy as I thought)and it got me thinking of online. My objections are similar to yours plus losing that feeling of satisfaction as my bookmark progresses through a thick tome. I also check back for mistakes and inconsistancies and for that I need the visual clue of page side or how far back etc. The same with the newspaper. How do you divvy up sections?

I hear ya!

I thought the rule of thumb for webpage writing is ‘fit it on the screen’ (ie. no scrolling down). That makes sense, ’cause I’m right there, I get bored reading too much text on a screen. So how do readers of ebooks keep their eyes from going buggy?

[…] and his books. Not only is he a reader, he’s someone who prefers to read online (I’ve been looking for one!): I love the great novels on my computer screen because, for me, paper is […]

This was what I had been looking for back when I asked about the e-books!!! I have read a bunch since then AND REALLY ENJOY sitting at the computer, that is until it’s bedtime or the sun finally comes out. I guess I’ll need a laptop now! ( 0-100 in a year-and-a-half of Luddite time)

April 8th and 11th were my question and your reply. Sorry I wasn’t more specific but thanks for the new category.

I’m glad you like the new category, Lyd. If you like reading online, there’s oooooodles of stuff out there!

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
