Lori's Book Nook

I just had to laugh…

Posted on: November 8, 2006

So I’m reading a short story, Expiation, by Edith Wharton…probably, unfortunately I realize now, the first piece of her writing I’ve ever read, and a line just makes me burst out laughing:

“Though the trials of married life have been classified and catalogued with exhaustive accuracy, there is one form of conjugal misery which has perhaps received inadequate attention; and that is the suffering of the versatile woman whose husband is not equally adapted to all her moods. Every woman feels for the sister who is compelled to wear a bonnet which does not “go” with her gown; but how much sympathy is given to her whose husband refuses to harmonize with the pose of the moment?”

I love my husband dearly, but he does sometimes lack a sense of what’s really going on…So I can commiserate!

I’m going back to continue reading this story — had to pause to share this with you all.  Very good so far, in that Victorian fiction tone of understatement and false modesty. Wonderful.

2 Responses to "I just had to laugh…"

Don’t worry, Honey.

*kiss*

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
