Lori's Book Nook

I would like to help…

Posted on: December 11, 2006

Found this site today: Damn.org which has a great library of .txt files, introduced as follows:

Welcome to my collection of classical literature. Despite the fact that almost no one has used this resource in over a year, I persist in trying to have at least ONE useful thing on this entire site. The works found in this library represent some of the greatest classical books written throughout history.

Please, people! Go to Dr. J’s site and make use of his resources!! He (?) hasn’t updated since 2003, but the library text files are still there.

Here are some first lines, in honour of the interest my previous post has accumulated (can you name the books?).

#1, in honour of the Christmas season:

 "Christmas won't be Christmas without any presents," grumbled
Jo, lying on the rug.

#2, ’cause it’s just great:

LO, praise of the prowess of people-kings
of spear-armed Danes, in days long sped,
we have heard, and what honor the athelings
    won!

#3, one of my favourite books of all time:

IT WAS seven o'clock of a very warm evening in the Seeonee hills
when Father Wolf woke up from his day's rest, scratched himself,
yawned, and spread out his paws one after the other to get rid
of the sleepy feeling in the tips.

#4, the first first line that ever caught my fancy:

"TOM!"

   No answer. 

    "TOM!"

   No answer. 

   "What's gone with that boy, I wonder? You TOM!" 

   No answer.

‘Tis not a difficult quiz. Ten lashes with a wet noodle if you can’t get at least 50%. Hie thee to a secondhand bookstore — immediately — if you don’t recognize any of them!

6 Responses to "I would like to help…"

What an interesting site. Pity he does not have the advertising skills to promote it. I also wonder how much of his “Old Writings” was lifted from Gutenbuerg. Still, even if he pulls the site, it will continue to be available at http://www.archive.org

Oh, I’m sure he pulled stuff off Gutenberg. Who has time to input their own books?

I really should look into advertising! And here I’d been banking on the old “Field of Dreams” (if you build it…) method for the last eight years. At least I get points for patience. Oh, I didn’t get the texts from Gutenberg, but it’s possible they came to me secondhand from that or a similar project. It was a long time ago. I originally planned to keep building the library, but my good intentions fell through the cracks (as good intentions often do) and Gutenberg became so big that it made my puny effort look a bit redundant. Still, thanks for rediscovering my site.

Well, Dr. J, you’ve got an interesting site. Perfectly normal for real life to interfere with those good intentions as well…:-)

Dr J, Real life is the curse of the computing class. by the way, I have a copy of Johnathon Livingstone Seagull on one of my websites ( http://www.geocities.com/pigletsplace/ )

[…] charity linkage in the (cough) blogosphere. After a little digging I think the culprit is this Lori […]

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
