Lori's Book Nook

Brain Candy

Posted on: January 11, 2007

We all need some mental relaxation periodically. I’ll often pick up a book I’ve read a thousand times, open it to the middle, and just ‘continue’ reading…calms me right down.

Yesterday, I picked up a bit of chick lit that had been sent my way (by BzzAgent actually — I participated in a preview of some upcoming books from Penguin, and they sent me one of the books…unfortunately, not the one I would have chosen), Your Big Break by Johanna Edwards. (A cute little story about a woman who works for a company that can be hired to break up with your boy/girlfriend for you, quit your job…)

It was morning, I was lying abed (again) with a cup of coffee, brought to me by my man, and I picked up this book. Its 308 pages were done by about 9:30 a.m. Maybe three hours (2 pee breaks, 1 break to get more coffee, and one to pour a bowl of cereal, which I brought back to bed of course!) to read through a $20 book.

No wonder I prefer 1) secondhand books, 2) meatier books. More value per word.

Am I alone in this? Does meatiness level contribute to your book buying? What are your criteria for buying a new (ie. not secondhand) book?

7 Responses to "Brain Candy"

Hmmm. I’m so far behind on my reading lists I don’t ‘have’ to buy new books. If I can’t find it at my library and I really want to read it, I’ll go to PowellsBooks’ or Amazon’s or Barnes and Noble’s sites and find it to buy. If it isn’t available used, I’ll buy it new. Right now the criteria for buying books is more like, “Is there room for it in this house? If I buy one more book, is the floor in the back room going to collapse when I am done reading it and put it back there?”

True, so many books are available used, why buy new? For gifts, for the super-new, must-have title…What else?

(I hear you about the sheer numbers. Because we just moved, I have done a major delet recently, but I think it’s almost time again. But my big fear is selling my books to a used bookstore, then slowly buying them back, as I ‘rediscover’ them!)

đŸ™‚

NONE! I will willingly wait a year for it to come out in paperback. In fact, I’ll happily wait for it to come out in paperback, be purchased, then passed from hand to hand until it winds up in the re-pulp section of a used bookshop for fifty cents.

My wife has weird ideas. I have not yet explained that a library of paperbacks will fill far less space than hardbacks, and that therefore we will not need to purge as often.

Haven’t you been paying attention to Thirtysomething?

New books are vastly too expensive, and until the publishing industry is paying me a mint, I avoid buying them new. With the sole qualifier that sometimes Terry Pratchett goes on sale at nearly 60% off.

Keep in mind, Metro, that 1) I don’t buy new books often, and 2) I don’t generally buy hardcovers. I have a weakness for trade paperbacks. But I agree with you, new at deep discount is delicious (ah, remaindered books!).

Good ol’ Archie can’t seem to post comments right now on WordPress, poor guy. Someone with that many opinions must feel pretty uncomfortable keeping them all bottled up, so he’s posted them all on his blog. So, if you want his answer to my question (and his responses to a random assortment of tidbits from the blogosphere), check out this post.

Agree with Metro. I’ll read the new bestseller from the library, see if it’s a must-have. Then wait a year for the paperback, THEN buy that secondhand. Loricat, you’ve seen our library, over 1000 books. Ninety percent are paperbacks.

90% also seem to be SF…no wonder we’re friends — similar (other?) world views!

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
