Lori's Book Nook

My other cousin’s a chimp!

Posted on: January 18, 2007

Did you know that we (not le gorille) are the chimp’s closest cousin on the hominid family tree? It’s a fascinating idea…and one of the questions that Jared Diamond’s The Third Chimpanzee is based on: If we are so similar, DNA-wise, what constituted the changes that created us — innovative, artistic, destructive humans?

So far it’s fascinating, somewhat eye-opening, and worth reading. And worth discussing — it’s the latest book for the BookTalk.org crew. We’re getting into it, and while still early in the quarter, some insightful comments have already been made (unfortunately, not necessarily by me!).

Read along with us!

5 Responses to "My other cousin’s a chimp!"

Oh No! Yet another addition to my TBB list. Then it will sit on my TBR pile for several months – by then all discussions will be over and done with!

Oh, Archie…you could discuss it with me!

I looked at the discussion board – I have never seen one before. I must get this when I return to civilisation in February and then I will, indeed, discuss it with you.

Related to Chimps ?

Speak for yourself – some of us are more than happy not to be hominids

My apologies, G Eagle Esq. I forgot about the visitors from the family Accipitridae.

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
