Lori's Book Nook

I’m guilty…

Posted on: January 25, 2007

…of having books I haven’t gotten around to reading yet. And books that I have no plan to read, because it’s a reference text, or a copy of a book I’ve already read, but wanted to own it. And books that I’ve started, but not finished, for whatever reason.

Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being is one of those books that I never got around to reading. It’s on my shelf — I think. It may not have survived my ruthless culling** before I packed books for the move.

But I don’t have to worry about it, I found it online, in its entirety.

Very cool.

**By ‘ruthless culling’, I mean I sold 1 large box, but still packed 35. Trust me, that’s ruthless.

4 Responses to "I’m guilty…"

I’ve tried to read books online, but I’ve never been able to do it. Maybe it’s the inability to flop on the couch with the computer, which is where I wind up doing most of my reading, or maybe it’s a matter of eye fatigue from looking into the lcd screen, but I wind up printing out even lengthy articles to read on paper.

It’s totally ‘not being able to flop on the couch’ that makes the ebooks an almost pointless proposition. I’ve written about it before, here…What I do like about online texts of any kind is their potential — for searches, concordances, quotes, links, and references.

I could flop on the couch or curl up in bed with the laptop, but I seriously cannot read long texts on screen. So no reading books online for me…

Meanwhile, I found The Unbearable Lightness of Being pretty much unbearable, like most of Mr Kundera’s work, so in my opinion you shouldn’t beat yourself up about not having read it yet.

Thanks, Az…I’ll probably never get around to reading it anyway, but now I feel better about it!
:p

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
