Lori's Book Nook

A memoir with a great first line

Posted on: February 14, 2007

“I was sitting in a taxi, wondering if I had overdressed for the evening, when I looked out the window and saw Mom rooting through a Dumpster.”

So begins The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, one of my Christmas books, well-chosen, I think, by my husband.

Opened it this morning, and before I’d finished my first cup of coffee in bed, I was 77 pages in. Stopped there so I could savour, not devour, it.

And blog on it.

I’ll update you all when I finish it.

2 Responses to "A memoir with a great first line"

What a wonderful first line. It deserves to be added to that list of first lines I remember seeing several months ago.

Well, I devoured it.

I would be deep in one of the episodes, and suddenly I’d realize “OMG, this is true!”

You want to know why some people live the way they do? (and yes, that’s very vague, I know) Read this book and find out how this family breaks all of your stereotypes.

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
