Lori's Book Nook

Vonnegut Dies

Posted on: April 12, 2007

Oh, today is a sad day for the reading world. From this article:

NEW YORK (AP) – In books such as “Slaughterhouse-Five,” “Cat’s Cradle,” and “Hocus Pocus,” Kurt Vonnegut mixed the bitter and funny with a touch of the profound.

Vonnegut, regarded by many critics as a key influence in shaping 20th-century American literature, died Wednesday at 84. He had suffered brain injuries after a recent fall at his Manhattan home, said his wife, photographer Jill Krementz.

In a statement, Norman Mailer hailed Vonnegut as “a marvelous writer with a style that remained undeniably and imperturbably his own. … I would salute him – our own Mark Twain.”

“He was sort of like nobody else,” said another fellow author, Gore Vidal. “Kurt was never dull.”

Vonnegut’s works – more than a dozen novels plus short stories, essays and plays – contained elements of social commentary, science fiction and autobiography.

The article continues at some length — very good piece.

His official website.

His Wikipedia entry.

8 Responses to "Vonnegut Dies"

I think my favourite is Hocus Pocus. I read the other two ‘biggies’ when I was in my late teens/early twenties and probably missed a lot of their significance.

I’ve read some of his stuff — I’ve never been a big fan. But what influence! He was always mentioned in surprising contexts…everywhere.

This is a good BBC article about Mr Vonnegut – the last quote is quite funny.

Hmmm… that link didn’t come out. Trying again…

Obituary: Kurt Vonnegut

Okay. That’s funny (the last quote, that is). 🙂

My older brother had a collection of his works when I was a kid. I used to raid my brother’s bookcase all the time, and I loved Vonnegut’s stuff even though I was too young to understand some of the satire. My favorites were The Sirens of Titan and Cat’s Cradle, which i just finished rereading.

I just heard that David Halberstan was killed in an auto accident a couple of days ago too. I’ve only read a couple of his, but I really liked them.

David Halberstan? Don’t know his stuff.

But damn! It’s always sad when we lose a good writer.

Oops, misspelled – it’s David Halberstam with an “m” on the end. He wrote nonfiction exclusively I think. I read The Best and the Brightest about the Vietnam war and The Fifties about postwar America, both of which were quite good. I also read the book he wrote about NFL coach Bill Belichick, which I think is the only book about sports that I actually liked (but I don’t generally read books about sports).

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
