Lori's Book Nook

Digital Lending Library

Posted on: June 8, 2007

I found a guy I like online — the Burgomeister, and his books. Not only is he a reader, he’s someone who prefers to read online (I’ve been looking for one!):

I love the great novels on my computer screen because, for me, paper is passé.

So, here we’ve got a reader who has found a solution to the problem of friends borrowing books and not returning them. (I just realized last night that I loaned out my only copy of Sei Shonogan’s The Pillow Book.) He is lending out his ebooks to anyone who wants to borrow them.

Brilliant. Not only is he cool, he’s got similar taste in reading to me…lots of SF and such.

Go visit, follow his guidelines, and read.

5 Responses to "Digital Lending Library"

I do believe that e-books are the future, but good ol’ paper books aren’t dead yet! If the concern about lending books to friends is that you never get them back on time is possibly not to never have owned the book. One way to let your friends borrow a book is to tell them to use a book rental service like my company BookSwim.com. Friends can rent out unlimited books Netflix-style with no late fees and free shipping both ways. This way both you and your friend can read the book and no one had to pay for it!

-George Burke

George, you’re right. It’s like lending money — don’t do it unless you can afford to never get it back. The same is true of books.

Interesting site you’ve got there. I don’t know if it’d work for me, but I’m sure you’ve got plenty of takers.

[Spammers, take note: this is how to get your company name/website as a blog comment…keep it relevant, real & honest.]

🙂

Hey,
Cool blog. Visit mine at http://techappy.blogspot.com/ and if you like it, please link to me, and I will do the same for you!

Thanks,

Sean

I just stumbled across a couple more places for free e-books: http://manybooks.net/http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/ebooks/http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/

By the way, you might be interested in checking out a site called goodreads.com – I’ve been hanging out there for a week or two, and it’s kind of cool. It’s almost like one of the myspace-type sites, only for book readers. You can create a “bookshelf” with books you’ve already read and rate them or review them if you like, then you can compare your books with other people’s bookshelfs and see what they’re reading (if their profiles are public anyway). When you spot an interesting book you can add it to your virtual “to-read” bookshelf. It’s a great way to find new authors and books, and they have discussion groups and other stuff too.

Ah, Rich! Glad to see you here again! I’ve been remiss in keeping up with my online obligations…so while I like the idea of ‘good reads’ I’ don’t see myself going there. I need more time, not more online communities!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
