Lori's Book Nook

So many new books!

Posted on: August 20, 2007

I feel positively inundated with books!

Glorious!

I am a volunteer book reviewer, and the real joy of that is the periodic packages of books that arrive in the mail. One arrived this last week, and I’m still reeling from the fabulousness of that day’s mail.

Wanna hear what they are? Keep in mind, I have yet to read them. If any of them are familiar to you, give me a shout.

Some non-fiction:

Running with Swords: The Adventures and Misadventures of the Irrepressible Canadian Fencing Champion by Sherraine MacKay (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)

The Rage: Reflections on Risk by Steve De Maio (Rocky Mountain Books)

Mental Traps: a Field Guide to the Stupid Mistakes that can Ruin Your Life by Andre Kukla (Doubleday Canada)

And some novels:

Zed by Elizabeth McClung (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Mallory by Margaret Gunning (Turnstone Press)

Certainty: a novel by Madeline Thien (McClelland & Stewart)

The Best Way You Know How by Christine Pountney (Penguin)

Gotta Find Me an Angel: A Novel by Brenda Brooks (Raincoast)

I’m reading the fencing one first…then a novel. Then another non-fiction, maybe with a novel…

Joy!

7 Responses to "So many new books!"

Wow, thanks for the list. Will surely check them out.

The novels all look really good — but I don’t know yet. But all of their blurbs made me go ‘Yeah!’ if that’s any indication. πŸ™‚

The others look interesting too. I’m reading the Sherraine MacKay right now, and it’s quite amusing.

interesting blog.

CERTAINTY is a good one. If you’re so inclined, you can check out my review in the San Francisco Chronicle:
http://sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2007/03/13/DDGUNOJ1E41.DTL&type=books

Beautifully written review…must admit though, makes me feel inadequate in my own attempts at review! πŸ™‚

I’m really enjoying “Certainty” as well — I find I’m reading it very slowly, so as to not miss anything. I too enjoyed that line from the beginning: “in what was to have been the future”. Nicely evocative.

[…] by Elizabeth McClung One of the books I’m reviewing is, well, rather brilliant — mesmerizing even. Zed, authored by Elizabeth McClung (Arsenal […]

[…] In an earlier post, I listed the books that arrived in my mailbox to review. I’m going to list them again, but […]

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
