Lori's Book Nook

Poetry, read

Posted on: September 28, 2007

I’ve ranted on in the past about the quality of the reader making, or breaking, an audio book.  If you’ve ever listened to a tedious reader, you know what I’m talking about. (And no, just because a reader is a famous actor, doesn’t mean that they’re any damn good!)

And I’ve blogged occasionally about poetry. Meant to be read aloud, it is an ideal match to audio, and I think we need to acknowledge a lovely podcast blog today: Classic Poetry Aloud.

Oh, I would admire anyone with the guy’s dedication to posting regular podcasts of themselves reading classic poetry…but I wouldn’t listen to it, if the reading were mediocre.

Mr. Only the Poetry Matters, you read very well. I’m now a fan.

2 Responses to "Poetry, read"

Lori

Many thanks for the kind comments and for the reference to Classic Poetry Aloud. I hope that my reading comes close to the quality of the poems I deliver.

Classic Poetry Aloud

Thanks for popping by here, CPA. I’ll think of some poems I need to hear read…(after I’ve finished perusing your whole site, though. Don’t want to annoy you with repeats!)

:p

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
