Lori's Book Nook

Books Unread “Meme”

Posted on: October 6, 2007

Raincoaster was tagged for this meme (gads, I abhor how that word has been co-opted by the blogosphere!) by caveblogem, and she’s passed on the tag…sort of a tag-by-proxy.

Maybe she doesn’t read…?

So as caveblogem describes the rules:

It’s another book meme which lists books tagged as unread in Librarything. Bold what you have read, italicize your DNFs, strikethrough the ones you hated, and put *asterisks next to those you read more than once.

I want add a dimension — underline the books on your bookshelf (in your TBR pile).

Jonathan Strange & M. Norrell
Anna Karenina
Crime and Punishment
Catch-22
One hundred years of solitude
Wuthering Heights
The Silmarillion
Life of Pi: a novel
*The Name of the Rose

Don Quixote
Moby Dick
Ulysses
Madame Bovary
The Odyssey
*Pride and Prejudice
*Jane Eyre

A Tale of Two Cities
The Brothers Karamazov
Guns, Germs, and Steel: the fates of human societies
War and Peace
Vanity Fair
The Time Traveller’s Wife
The Iliad
*Emma
The Blind Assassin
The Kite Runner
Mrs. Dalloway
Great Expectations
American Gods
A heartbreaking work of staggering genius
Atlas shrugged
Reading Lolita in Tehran
Memoirs of a Geisha
Middlesex
Quicksilver
Wicked : the life and times of the wicked witch of the West
The Canterbury Tales
The Historian
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Love in the Time of Cholera
*Brave new world
The Fountainhead
* Foucault’s Pendulum
Middlemarch
Frankenstein
The Count of Monte Cristo
*Dracula
A Clockwork Orange
Anansi Boys
The Once and Future King
The Grapes of Wrath
The Poisonwood Bible
1984
Angels & Demons
The Inferno
The Satanic Verses
*Sense and Sensibility
The Picture of Dorian Gray
*Mansfield Park
One flew over the cuckoo’s nest
To the Lighthouse
Tess of the D’Urbervilles
Oliver Twist
Gulliver’s Travels
Les misérables
The Corrections
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
The curious incident of the dog in the night-time
* Dune
The Prince
The Sound and the Fury
Angela’s Ashes
The God of Small Things
A people’s history of the United States : 1492-present
Cryptonomicon
Neverwhere
A Confederacy of Dunces
A Short History of Nearly Everything
Dubliners
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Beloved
* Slaughterhouse-five
The Scarlet Letter
Eats, Shoots & Leaves
*The Mists of Avalon
Oryx and Crake : a novel
Collapse : how societies choose to fail or succeed
Cloud Atlas
The Confusion
Lolita
*Persuasion
*Northanger Abbey

The Catcher in the Rye
On the Road
The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Freakonomics
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
The Aeneid
Watership Down
Gravity’s Rainbow
* The Hobbit
In Cold Blood
White Teeth
Treasure Island
David Copperfield
The Three Musketeers

So, now what? Oh, right. Tagging. I know better than that — I’ll tag all my readers, because I know you’re here because you’re booky, so you’ll be itching to try this one yourself. Please go ahead!

Enjoy!

18 Responses to "Books Unread “Meme”"

I may just have to do this. I found a similar one a while back, but haven’t gotten around to it. I think it had different books, though.

As for the meme term, I tend to think of it as me-me. As in “all about me.” Because they pretty much are all me-ish. And it’s fun to make up etymologies.

It’s really a pretty fashionable list, on second perusal, isn’t it? Anansi Boys is not going to be there in fifty, or even twenty, years.

@alejna

I like it, ‘me-me’….that’s just so, accurate!
So please do this one, and we can compare…

@raincoaster

I think it’s a good list, because it’s a whole whack of classics a lot of people have on their mental TBR piles, but never get around to, and then a lot of newer ‘phenomenon’ books, the ones people buy and never read. Those will change each decade. In the 70s, Jonathan Livingston Seagull would have been on the list. The Name of the Rose is on the list of course, since it was the book that was in every 2ndhand bookstore in the late 80s, uncracked.

Remember when we did this one, Lori?

Yeah, I also cringe at the blogosphere bastardization of the word ‘meme’. ‘Me-Me’ is quite good though, alejna.

Um, a stupid question. What does DNF mean?

“Did Not Finish” is my guess as well. 🙂

The other list was great, supposedly a great books, or classic list? This one is based on the books at LibraryThing that are most commonly listed as ‘unread’. A lot of the same books are on both…does that mean that a lot of classics are unread (true), or that people at LibraryThing are more interested in having books than reading them? 🙂

[…] Monday, 8 October 2007 yet another book thang! Posted by azahar under books & writing , me-me’s , quizzes         Found over at Lori’s booknook […]

Well, I posted over at my place that the reason I changed your last bit of instruction to ‘books that are on my bookshelf’ was because I don’t have a TBR pile. There’s just the one unread book that isn’t on the list anyhow …

I can’t really afford to have piles of unread books lolling about the place … I buy ’em and then I read ’em. And then I buy another one. And so it goes.

My TBR ‘pile’ is metaphorical…The books I have hanging around waiting to be read are not even on the same shelf, poor things. The only pile is the one on my bedside table, of books I’m currently in the middle of.

Ah, books!

🙂

Oh, okay. I’m in the middle of a couple of books at the moment, but again, neither of them are on the list.

My bedside table <a href=”“>looks like this! But that’s mostly because I’m too lazy to put my books away properly…

Flick! Shall I try again? Feel free to edit …

It looks like this.

Did that work?

Bleh, I give up…

Az, you had an extra bit of code in there. I took it out.

Lovely pile o’ books! 🙂

[…] had been found at Lady Strange. I couldn’t find, it there though.) I myself found this at Lori’s Book Nook, and then re-found it shortly thereafter at Casa […]

So I put up mine, too. (See pingback.) It looks like we’ve read a fair amount in common.

I notice that you hated The Corrections. I had largely forgotten the details, though I remembered reading it for a book group. But now that you mention hating it, I remember that I found it pretty painful. If I remember correctly, wasn’t it about family members being really nasty to each other? Was there something about spanish fly and a cruise ship? Or am I getting this mixed up with some other book I read for my book group?

And you also hated The Unbearable Pretentiousness of Kundera. Gaaaaa! that book drove me mental. As I recall I finished it out of spite, just so nobody could ever tell me that it got better near the end.

A & A…
both of those are books that I couldn’t even get past the first chapter on! Gads.

Too many good books in the world though, to read one out of spite…

🙂

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
