Lori's Book Nook

Truly comprehensive?

Posted on: August 2, 2008

Wouldn’t it be utterly brilliant to have a comprehensive list of available online books?

This site seems to be a step in that direction. It is a no-frills webpage of links to so many of the online book (including audio books) locations that one would be hard-pressed to say if anything was missing. And if it is, suggest it to the website’s owner, and I’m sure it will be added.

Next, give me a book reader and I’ll be all set.

Since we’re on the subject, if you’re looking to get me a gift (“Really? For me?!?”), I’m opting for the iRex iLiad — pricey but has features that I’d love. Unlike the much-too-hyped Amazon Kindle — where they don’t tell you the fine print (I’ve read this on Cnet, in the user reviews). You know all those thousands of free books online? The ones that you already have on your computer? Well, if you want them on the Kindle, you gotta buy them from Amazon, ’cause they won’t go on otherwise! Yup, Amazon has found a way to inveigle all those book lovers into buying stuff that is otherwise free! [The moral of the story? Do your research before you buy!!]

5 Responses to "Truly comprehensive?"

Actually, there are thousands of free books online that you can read on the Kindle. (Many need format conversion, but there are free services/tools to do this with.) This post lists places where you can get free books for the Kindle.

(I felt compelled to defend the Kindle. I recently got one for my birthday, and haven’t run into any snags so far. I love it that I can read pdf articles on it, as well as books, since most of my reading is academic these days. And it’s really easy on the eyes–much more so than reading on my laptop.)

Thanks alejna — I feel better knowing that. I had been feeling rather put out by Amazon for what is a clear money grab. The small print is a killer.

While on the topic of the Kindle, how does the whole Internet connection for downloads work on it?

I actually haven’t really tried the internet connection myself. I confess to lameness. I have emailed myself some pdfs for school/work, and John (who gave me the Kindle) got me a couple of books. (One for school/work that I have to read, and one freebie for fun.) I haven’t tried browsing or downloading otherwise.

I can report back once I’ve gotten past my lameness. Or perhaps I can send John your way to report. He’s been reading all sorts of books on his Kindle, mainly free ones. Including Ulysses, of all things. (And yes, he finished it. Humpf.)

G’day,

I am currently writing my major work for english extension 2 in my last year of schooling (my HSC).

For my thesis i will be studying in depth, how vampires serve as literary symbols of human development and liberation, with indepth analysis of the (what i have classified as) 4 vampire eras (ancient, victorian, contemporary and neo-vampire fiction).

I was wondering if you would be able to provide me with some assistance or advice, what ever help you can spare will be much appreciated.

J. Nicholson
jakey-wakey19@hotmail.com

Well Jake, I’m not sure what you can expect from me. While I may appreciate a decent vampire flick, and have read Stoker (and exposed myself to Rice), I’ve not read any other vampyre fiction.

I would suggest (1) close reading of your chosen texts, (2) research on what exactly you mean by ‘literary symbols of human development and liberation’, and (3) some research in university library journals to see if any other scholars have played with a similar theme, so you can have something to back you up.

The Internet can only really help you, as I see it, in two ways. One, you may be able to find e-books of some of your texts, useful for searching key words, possibly making a concordance, but also for cutting’n’pasting quotes into your paper. Two, you may be able to find a Vampire fan group that you could pose your questions to on a discussion page, and see what ideas they come up with.

But those are the obvious research steps, that you probably already know by now, being in your last year of schooling.

On a personal note, I would be more interested in the socio-economic analysis of each ‘vampire era’ and what each change says about the tastes of the reading/watching public. That’s just where my curiosity lies.

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
