Lori's Book Nook

O Cringeworthy List!

Posted on: March 15, 2010

I’ve reviewed books, many times. I don’t consider what I do on this blog to be really reviewing though. I think I’m more commenting on how this book or that book moved me or messed with me, or sometimes,  just how it connected with another book in my mind.

Here is the top 10 of the 20 most annoying book review clichés:

1. Gripping

2. Poignant: if anything at all sad happens in the book, it will be described as poignant

3. Compelling

4. Nuanced: in reviewerspeak, this means, “The writing in the book is really great. I just can’t come up with the specific words to explain why.”

5. Lyrical: see definition of nuanced, above.

6. Tour de force

7. Readable

8. Haunting

9. Deceptively simple: as in, “deceptively simple prose”

10. Rollicking: a favorite for reviewers when writing about comedy/adventure books

Thank the gods, I’m only batting 2 for 10 here. I’m so totally guilty of ‘readable’ and ‘compelling’…’cause books often are those things!

Looking at the whole list, I believe I’m still only 20% clichéd. I hope.

My favourite example?

17. That said: as in, “Stephenie Meyer couldn’t identify quality writing with a compass and a trained guide; that said, Twilight is a harmless read.””

Check out the whole article…oh, and the newly created Bingo cards!

5 Responses to "O Cringeworthy List!"

I wish you had given me a list of books that meet the cliches. Some sound very interesting. What are the other 10?

Well Angelo…it’s not the books, it’s the reviews. Follow the links to the full list (and a sample book review that uses them all!)

Whew. I wrote a review of “And Another Thing” (part six of 3).

It read “Mostly funny” – see – not a cliche in sight! 🙂

You lucky, lucky man! 😀

Wow, I’m just as guilty of you. I’ve used ‘compelling’, ‘page-turner’, ‘riveting’, ‘powerful’ and probably ‘gripping’ too. They may be cliched, but they perfectly describe some books! Thanks for the list!

Leave a Reply

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
