Lori's Book Nook

The Cornish Trilogy

Robertson Davies’ third trilogy came to be known as The Cornish Trilogy. Written in the 80s, the three books The Rebel Angels, What’s Bred in the Bone and The Lyre of Orpheus delve into most of Davies’ favourite topics: art, theatre, religion, literature, history (esp. personal history and its effects on one’s present day)…

Let’s dive in and discuss these books.

Google books has a good discussion guide, which would be good place to start, once  you’ve re-read the books.

How ’bout we start up in the stratosphere? I saw a comment while looking for a discussion guide: “I have always thought that the books should be read backwards.” That would be Lyre, then Bone, then Angels.

What do you think?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Book Discussion Pages

Here on the Book Nook you can discuss: The Fifth Business by Robertson Davies, as well as the next two books in the Deptford Trilogy, The Manticore and World of Wonders, and if that's not enough for you, see what's up on the forums at BookTalk.org!
%d bloggers like this: